The Council For Higher Education

The vision for the higher education system in Israel is to achieve excellence in teaching and research, be positioned at the forefront of global science, enable full access to higher education and to train a qualified academic workforce in response to the needs of society and the economy. In addition, the principles of academic freedom in higher education institutions must be maintained as well as their independence and autonomy.

The philosophy underlying higher education is founded on the fundamental values ​​of equality, academic freedom, pluralism and a respect for human dignity. As such, the educational programs in higher education institutions are open, in general, to all of students who meet admission criteria, thereby implementing the principle of equality of academic opportunity to acquire higher education, without excluding groups of people based on ethnicity, religion, gender, age and so forth. According to the Council for Higher Education Law, only those possessing a recognized high school diploma (or equivalent) may apply for an undergraduate degree in an institution of higher learning.

Article 15 of the Israeli Higher Education Law guarantees that higher education institutions are autonomous in the conduct of their academic and administrative affairs, and within the framework of their budgets and the terms of accreditation.

The higher education system in Israel is regulated by the Council for Higher Education (CHE) and the Planning and Budgeting Committee (PBC), both of which are public entities; the former founded by law and the latter established by  a government decision.

The framework of the system of higher education in Israel is defined in the Council for Higher Education Law, 1958. This law established the Council for Higher Education (CHE) and the procedures for the accreditation of the institutions :

CHE has the authority to:

  • grant permission to open and operate HE institutions;
  • accredit institutions as institutions of higher education;
  • authorize an accredited institution to award academic degrees;
  • approve studies under the academic authority of an accredited institution;
  • authorize an institution to use a name or designation;
  • make proposals to accredited institutions in relation to their consolidation, expansion and development;
  • submit proposals to the government, through the Planning and Budgeting Committee, to develop higher education and proposals for state participation in the budget of the higher education system, according to the needs of society and the country.
  • make recommendations to the government regarding the establishment of additional HE institutions;
  • grant licenses to branches of foreign HE institutions;
  • conduct Quality Assessment.

The Committee is composed of seven members (including the Chairman): four are professors (two from the social sciences and humanities and two from the exact and engineering sciences); two are representatives of the public; and one a senior faculty member of a budgeted college. PBC members are appointed by the Council for a period of three years with the possibility of extending the appointment for a further three years.

Queries 326 | Seconds: 1.722