The Council For Higher Education

Date of publication:



The Council for Higher Education (hereinafter – the CHE) is a statutory corporation that was established by the Higher Education Law 1958 (hereinafter – the CHE Law) and it is the State institution responsible for higher education in Israel, carrying out its functions according to the authorities vested in it by this Law. The Council for Higher Education draws up policy for the higher education system in the State.


The innovation in this legislation was the fact that the Knesset wanted higher education in the country to be under the exclusive authority of an independent and autonomous body that would determine policy and reach its decisions after professional and pertinent discussion.


Two important factors are reflected in the CHE Law: the first – safeguarding the autonomy of the institutions of higher education to conduct their academic and administrative affairs, within the framework of their budgets; and secondly – the directive that at least two-thirds of the Council members will be selected because of their personal standing in the field of higher education. These two principles have served as the basis for the Council’s being for many years.



The Composition of the Council


CHE is composed of between nineteen to twenty-five members, one of whom is the Minister of Education who acts as Chairman ex officio. The Chairman of the Planning and Budgeting Committee and the Chairman of the National Association of Students are also members of the Council by virtue of their positions. At least two-thirds of the members must be persons of standing in the field of higher education, who have been recommended by the Minister of Education after consulting with recognized institutions of higher education. There must be suitable representation in the Council of all types of accredited higher education institutions.

CHE members are appointed by the President of the State upon the recommendation of the government. They hold tenure for a period of five years.


The Powers of the Council


The main powers of the Council for Higher Education are:


  • grant permission to open and operate HE institutions;
  • accredit institutions as institutions of higher education;
  • authorize an accredited institution to award academic degrees;
  • approve studies under the academic authority of an accredited institution;
  • authorize an institution to use a name or designation;
  • make proposals to accredited institutions in relation to their consolidation, expansion and development;
  • submit proposals to the government, through the Planning and Budgeting Committee, to develop higher education and proposals for state participation in the budget of the higher education system, according to the needs of society and the country.
  • make recommendations to the government regarding the establishment of additional HE institutions;
  • grant licenses to branches of foreign HE institutions;
  • conduct Quality Assessment.
Queries 373 | Seconds: 1.717